Preload icon

Discerning Together

Important Dates | Diocesan Profile | Communications | Discernment Forums

A Prayer for the Election of a Bishop Suffragan

Almighty and everliving God, source of all wisdom and understanding, be present as we discern who you would call to serve as Bishop Suffragan of the Diocese of West Texas. Teach us in all things to seek first your honor and glory. Guide us to perceive what is your will, and grant us both the courage to pursue it and the grace to accomplish it; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen

Oración para la elección de un Obispo Sufragáneo

Dios todopoderoso y eterno, fuente de toda sabiduría y entendimiento, esté presente mientras discernimos a quién llamaras a servir como Obispo Sufragáneo de la Diócesis de West Texas. Enséñanos en todas las cosas a buscar primero tu honor y gloria. Guíanos para que percibamos cuál es tu voluntad, y concédenos tanto el coraje para seguirla como la gracia para llevarla a cabo; por Jesucristo nuestro Señor. Amén.

Important Dates


  • February 21-23: The Right Rev. David G. Read calls for the election of the Bishop Suffragan of West Texas. The Standing Committee submits the proposed resolution with a timetable to the delegates.
  • March – May: Consents to hold an election are sought from the Standing Committees and bishops with jurisdiction in The Episcopal Church.
  • May 28: Nominations open
  • June 12: Nominations close
  • September 13: Slate of nominees announced
  • October 4 – 6: Discernment Forums- Rio Grande Valley, Coastal Bend, San Antonio regions
  • October 19: Election of the Bishop Suffragan of West Texas - Church of the Good Shepherd, Corpus Christi
  • March 29: Consecration of the Bishop Suffragan of West Texas - St. John's, McAllen

Diocesan Profile

The Nominating Committee has released the Diocesan Profile electronically to provide a view of our diocese and the role of the bishop suffragan. We ask the people of West Texas to prayerfully consider clergy who might have a call to be bishop suffragan and to share the profile with those who may be interested.

Nomination Form

The Nomination Form includes a link for the nominee to update his or her biographical data with The Episcopal Church's Office of Transitional Ministries. No nomination can be made unless that person has consented to be nominated and has advised their diocesan bishop if a priest or the Presiding Bishop if a bishop that they will be in the nominating process for West Texas.

Each nominee must be nominated by one lay person and one clergy nominator. There will not be a petition process, and there will not be nominations from the floor. Each person may only submit one nominee for bishop suffragan, using the Nomination Form linked below, and neither the nominators nor the candidate needs to be resident within the diocese.

Names of those discerning a call to this process will be received starting on May 28th and nominations will close on June 12th. Although nomination forms won't be accepted prior to May 28, we do want you to start saying your prayers and sharing the profile as The Holy Spirit moves you. Talk to your clergy. Talk to each other. And begin prayerfully discerning who you might consider nominating to be our next bishop suffragan. We will continue to keep you updated regularly as the process proceeds.

Beginning May 28, completed Nomination Forms should be submitted directly to the Nominating Committee at


Information and updates regarding the process of discerning the next Bishop of West Texas will be shared by email, through the diocesan social media feeds, and online, at and Use the links below to sign up for email updates or follow the diocese on Facebook and Instagram.

  • Click here to subscribe to the Diocesan General Interest email list, which will receive all election communications.
  • Click here to follow the Diocese on Facebook.
  • Click here to follow the Diocese on Instagram.

Bishop Nominating Committee
Standing Committee

The Rev. James Derkits, Trinity by the Sea, Port Aransas - President
Dr. Liz Manning, Holy Spirit, Dripping Springs
Susan Alwais, St. George, San Antonio
Libby Templeton, St. Michael and All Angels, Blanco
The Rev. Jonathan Wickham, All Saint’s, Corpus Christi
The Rev. Karen Morris, Emmanuel, Lockhart

Assisting Members

Lorena Rojas, St. John’s, McAllen
The Rev. Mike Woods, St. Elizabeth's, Buda
Lory Zimmerman, St. Philip’s, Uvalde
The Rev. Betsy Stephenson, Grace, Llano
Dorcas Sampson, Church of the Resurrection, Windcrest
The Rev. Michael Koehler, Trinity, Victoria

Diocesan Office

Leigh Saunders, Executive Assistant to the Bishop
Communications Office, Meg Grant, Director or Andrea Thompson

Click here to subscribe to the Diocesan General Interest email list and receive all election emails.

Bishop Suffragan Elections Communications

News & Stories
May 9, 2024

Diocesan Profile and Nomination Process for Bishop Suffragan Election

Read More
News & Stories
May 6, 2024

The Nominating Committee Shares Timeline for the Bishop Suffragan Election

Read More


Send us a message, give us a call, or sign up for our Newsletter.